Gulab Jamun

Whenever I see Jamuns I start to drool. I love it like anything. That too the homemade gulab jamuns are my all time favorite. When we do jamuns at home some people do it in a perfect shape without cracks and retain it even after putting it in the sugar syrup. But for some people it will break and tend to dissolve in the water solution. I will let you know how to make a perfect gulab jamun without cracking.

Though gulab jamun mix can be prepared at home, I prefer MTR Gulab jamun mix, which I felt is the best. (I will try and post the recipes without ready made mix asap)

Let’s see how to make this simple sweet.

So, Lets start cooking. Welcome to my Kitchen!! 🙂

PicsArt_1450186457762.jpg


Ingredients:

For Jamun:
MTR mix – 1 packet (I prefer MTR Gulab Jamun mix)
Oil/Ghee – as required for dough and for frying.
Water – as required

For Sugar syrup:
Sugar – 2 1/2 cups
Water – 2 1/2 cups
Cardamom – 2

Method:

For preparing jamuns:

  1. Mix the MTR gulab jamun mix with required water and oil. Some people use milk instead of water but as the jamun mix itself has milk ingredients I used water. Dough it to chappathi dough consistency.
  2. Keep it aside for 15 min.
  3. Make small balls from the dough.
  4. Pre-heat oil in the kadai in high flame.
  5. Once the oil is hot, lower the flame and drop the jamun balls in batches.
  6. Fry them in low flame, so that they will get cooked thoroughly (inside also).
  7. Take out once the jamuns are fried. (I like my jamuns in dark color but not burnt)

For Syrup:

  1. Take 2 1/2 cups of sugar in 2 1/2 cups of water.
  2. Bring it boil.
  3. Add 2 crushed cardamom.
  4. Once the syrup comes to rolling, switch off the stove.
  5. Drop the fried jamuns slowly inside the hot sugar syrup.
  6. Keep the container closed.
  7. Gulab jamuns will be ready to serve hot in 15 min.

Tips and tricks:

  1. For smooth balls: Apply oil in both the palms. Take a small amount of dough. Start by pressing it between the palms and roll it tight. Gradually roll it to a ball without taking the palms from the dough. Remember, once the dough starts to roll as a ball, DO NOT PRESS TOO HARD. Tight packing the ball will make it hard while eating. I follow this method and I get no cracks on my jamuns anytime.
  2. Oil: Oil should be in correct temperature to get perfectly fried/cooked jamuns.
  3. Stove Flame: Should fry in low flame. The inner part of the jamuns will be raw if cooked in high flame.
  4. Sugar syrup: Water and sugar quantity should be equal. If sugar is more then, it will be be more sweeter (in tamil ‘thegatum’) and if water is more, it will become like jamuns in water not in sugar syrup. Also, the jamuns will absorb lot of water and will tend to break)cropped jamun.jpg

Things not to do:

  1. Do not tightly roll the dough. Jamuns will not cook inside and will remain hard and raw inside.
  2. Do not drop the jamuns in the boiling syrup. Sometimes the jamuns absorb the syrup quickly and tend to break. So switch off the stove and then drop the fried jamuns.

 

Try this and let me know your feedback in the comments section.


If you like this post please comment in the below box or mail me to indhuscookbook@gmail.com. If you have enjoyed your time in this space, Please like this page in facebook. If you want email subscription, you can enter your email and click “Subscribe” in your right hand side.

Your feedback is my Motivation. Help me to help you.

Happy cooking   🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Whenever I see Jamuns I start to drool. I love it like anything. That too the homemade gulab jamuns are my all time…

Posted by Indhu's Cookbook on Friday, December 18, 2015

Leave a comment